Standing with Ukraine

From the Office of the President

To the Dartmouth community,

We are horrified by the brazen aggression of the Russian military invasion of Ukraine. As senior leaders at Dartmouth, we stand as one in support of all those individuals around the world who are affected by this atrocity, and especially our own students, faculty, staff, and alumni who are part of the Ukrainian community. We are also troubled by the unfolding refugee crisis and emerging reports of people of color being prevented from crossing the Ukrainian border to safety.

We hope that the global condemnation of this unprovoked assault and its devastating effects reflects rising support for basic human rights, respect for international law, and the principles of freedom and understanding valued by academic institutions such as Dartmouth.

As leaders, we recognize there are tragedies happening daily. While it would be impossible to respond to each one, we hope this message makes clear our opposition to all senseless acts of violence whenever they occur. They are antithetical to our institutional values.

Our hearts go out to the Ukrainian members of the Dartmouth community, and we are grateful to our campus colleagues, who continue to be in contact with affected individuals to provide counseling and other important assistance. As evidenced by the community coming together on the Green last week, we are united in support of one another. If you need additional help, please do not hesitate to take advantage of any of the following resources: Dartmouth College Health Service Counseling Center, wellness services for employees and students, the Tucker Center for Spiritual and Ethical Life, the Office of Residential Life, the Financial Aid Office, the Office of Visa and Immigration Services, and the Faculty/Employee Assistance Program.


The Dartmouth Senior Leadership Group
Philip J. Hanlon, president
Alexis R. Abramson, dean, Thayer School of Engineering
Justin Anderson, vice president for communications
Scott C. Brown, interim dean of the College
Duane A. Compton, dean, Geisel School of Medicine
Shontay Delalue, senior vice president/senior diversity officer
Laura H. Hercod, chief of staff, Office of the President
Sandhya L. Iyer, general counsel
David F. Kotz, provost
F. Jon Kull, dean, Guarini School of Graduate and Advanced Studies
Robert W. Lasher, senior vice president for advancement
Richard G. Mills, executive vice president
Peter P. Roby, interim director of athletics and recreation
Alice A. Ruth, chief investment officer
Matthew J. Slaughter, dean, Tuck School of Business
Elizabeth F. Smith, dean, Faculty of Arts and Sciences