The Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences

Shoshana Silverstein '15 Earns Truman Scholarship

Article Type 
President Phil Hanlon ’77 congratulates Shoshana Silverstein ’15
on winning a 2014 Truman Scholarship. (Photo by Eli Burakian ’00)

On Apr. 17, Dartmouth Now announced Shoshana Silverstein '17 was chosen as a 2014 Harry S. Truman Scholar. Shoshana is one of 59 college students to be awarded the Truman Scholarship, which provides up to $30,000 to pursue graduate studies in public service fields as well as assistance with career counseling, internship placement, graduate school admissions and professional development.

President Phil Hanlon ’77 met with Shoshana to congratulate her, telling her how thrilling it is for a Dartmouth student to win the prestigious scholarship.

“I am incredibly honored,” Shoshana said in an interview with the Dartmouth Now. “When I was first doing the Truman application, I had the great opportunity to reflect and think about what I have done and what I want to do.”

A government major and public policy minor, Shoshana's goals include a four-year joint law degree and masters in public policy after Dartmouth.

Shoshana has been heavily involved at Rocky, participating in the Management and Leadership Development Program, the Rockefeller Global Leadership Program and the Policy Research Shop. She has also been a student co-leader for VoxMasters for most of the past two years. 

Last fall, she participated in Charlie Wheelan's class on Indian economic policy before traveling to India over winter break as part of the class, and has been named a 2014-2015 Presidential Fellow in the Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress.

Her other campus involvements include working as a research assistant as a James O. Freedman Presidential Scholar, serving as an executive board member of J Street U and a Dickey Center War and Peace Fellow.

The 2014 Truman Scholars were selected from among 655 applications from 293 colleges and universities. Shoshana joins recent Dartmouth Truman Scholars Brandon DeBot ’14, Emma Smith ’13, and Christian Brandt ’12.

To read the entire Dartmouth Now article, click here.

The Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences