The Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences

Summer 2014 Recap: Recognizing the Alumni Mentors of First-Year Fellows

Article Type 

This week, the Rockefeller Center looks back on the news that defined summer 2014.

With this series, the Rockefeller Center recognized the valuable contributions provided by its alumni mentors to participants in the First-Year Fellows program.
The First-Year Fellows program provides first-year students with the opportunity to meaningfully engage in public policy early in their Dartmouth career. Approximately twenty students are selected each year from an application process which includes completion with distinction the introductory public policy course, a research methods course, and an interview. Fellows are then placed with Dartmouth alumni in Washington, DC, who have agreed to mentor a student over the course of an eight-week summer internship and beyond. From Capitol Hill to economic think tanks to federal agencies, the Center faculty and staff make a sincere effort to match students with mentors who work in areas of strong interest to them.

“The fellowship allowed me to develop my professional skills, understand the impact of effective advocacy, and provided a valuable platform for my personal growth and development….but perhaps the most satisfying and gratifying aspect of the experience was the relationship I developed with my mentor.” --Maureen Mentrek '16, Providence Hospital Center for Perinatal Advocacy   
The Rockefeller Center extended a heart-felt thanks to each and every mentor for their role in developing the next generation of leaders. The following are mentors that served Dartmouth students through the First-Year Fellows program over the years.
Charlie Bass '74, Republican Main Street PartnershipJohn Billings '00, Office of Congressman Charles F. BassTerra Branson '10, National Congress of American IndiansMichael Breen '02, Truman National Security ProjectMalia Brink '96, National Association of Criminal Defense LawyersAmanda Brown '07, Rock the VoteJennifer Chandler '82, National Council of NonprofitsBobby Charles '82, The Charles Group LLCLeah Daughtry '84, Democratic National CommitteeRobert Davidson '67, Corporation for National and Community Service
Matthew Davis MHP'09, US Environmental Protection Agency Montague Demment, Association of Public & Land-grant Universities Danielle Downing '99, Project on Government Oversight William Eichbaum '63, World Wildlife Fund Deborah Elcock T'74, Argonne National Laboratory Peter Folger '82, Congressional Research Service Hilary French '86, Worldwatch InstituteWilliam Frenzel '50 T'51, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget Gabriela Garcia '01, The Center for Perinatal Advocacy at ProvidenceSean Garren '07, FairShare

Kirsten Gillibrand '88

Kirsten Gillibrand '88, Office of Senator Kirsten Gillibrand Deborah Hanmer '99, DC Prep Charter School
Kelly Hart '97, Conservation Vision Services: The Trust for Public Land
Paul Hodes '72, Office of Congressman Paul Hodes
Jeffrey Immelt '78, President’s Council for Jobs & Competitiveness
Nora Johnson '09, US Environmental Protection Agency
Lauren Kennedy '02, US Department of Education
Aaron Klein '98, Bipartisan Policy Center
Alex Kugajevsky '92, Neptune

Ann McLane Kuster '78, Office of Congresswoman Ann McLane Kuster
Nigel Leeming, Human Capital Institute
Sarah Lennon '90, US Department of EnergyJosh Lozman '01, One Campaign Jay Matson '91, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Jennifer McCullough '97, Conservation International
Michael Morris P'08, National Disability Institute
John Mott '81, Superior Court of the District of Columbia
David Mustra DMS'01, National Association for Biomedical Research Policy Directions Inc.
Mary Beth Nikitin '96, Congressional Research Service
Abner Oakes '81, The Center for Comprehensive School Reform and Improvement
Lew Podolske '69, US Department of Homeland Security

Rob Portman '78

Rob Portman '78, Office of Senator Robert Portman
Paul Riddle '73, US Department of Education
Edward Rynne '77, Smithsonian Institution
Jeremy Skog '02, US Census Bureau
Daniel Smith '73, American Forestry Associates
Barrett P. Thornhill '01, Biotechnology Industry Organization
John Topping '64, The Climate Institute Liza Veto '93, The Center for Disease Control and Prevention Ben Wilson '76, Beveridge & Diamond, P.C. Laurence Wiseman '69 P'05, American Forest Foundation Lisa-Joy Zgorski '86, National Science Foundation Cathy Zoi '85, US Department of Energy

The Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences